Station of the Year - Small, Medium, Large, Major
Stations will be divided into four sections for judging – small, medium, large and major termini.

No presentation required.

See criteria

Freight & Logistics Achievement of the Year

This award will recognise a major new contribution to rail freight or logistics involving use of rail. 

Presentation date June 6, Norton Rose Fulbright, London.

See criteria

Infrastructure Achievement of the Year
This award covers all aspects of infrastructure engineering, including for example, signalling and telecommunications, power supply, digital technologies as well as civil engineering.

Presentation date June 18, Burges Salmon, London.

See criteria

Passenger Operator of the Year
This award covers all passenger operators - main line, urban, metro or light rail. It is designed to reward operators who, over the past year, set and achieved high standards of operation.

Presentation date June 13, Transport Focus, London.

See criteria

Outstanding Personal Contribution
People are at the heart of the railway. This award recognises railway men and women in any front-line role who have performed above and beyond the call of duty, to significant effect.

Presentation dates June 11 and 12, British Transport Police, London.

See criteria

Innovation of the Year
Innovation means finding new ways of doing the job or new technologies that will change the railway. It can involve radical changes in engineering or technology or to business process or to customer service.

Presentation date June 12, Norton Rose Fulbright, London.

See criteria

Safety Initiative of theYear
Safety has always been high on public and political agendas - and rightly so. This award encompasses all aspects of safety, including the safety of staff, passengers and the public.

Presentation date June 13, British Transport Police, London.

See criteria

Customer Service  Excellence
This award recognises top class service for customers of all suppliers of railway services, where an organisation shows flexibility, responsibility, and a clear focus on quality of delivery that sets a new standard to deliver customer satisfaction, and which sets ambitions for the future that the industry will follow.

Presentation date June 8, Transport Focus, London.

See criteria

Major Project of the Year

Open to any major project, costing around £100m or more.  (Smaller projects should normally be submitted to other categories which are relevant to their nature and focus.) It may involve trains, infrastructure, signalling, stations, improved customer facilities, new technology. 

Presentation date June 4, Burges Salmon, London.

See criteria

Train of the Year 
This new award covers all types of train and rolling stock, both passenger and freight.  The winning entry could be a new build, a refurbishment or upgrade, maintenance of existing stock or to a programme to improve rolling stock performance. 

Presentation date June 5, IMechE, London.

See criteria

Outstanding Teamwork Award
The modern railway depends on excellent teamwork within and across companies and organisations. 

Presentation date June 7, IMechE, London.

See criteria

Sustainable Development Award  

Commitment to sustainable development should be considered as essential for all involved in the future of the railway, including infrastructure developers and contractors. 

Presentation date June 5,  Burges Salmon, London.

See criteria